News

WEBINAR: Automating access to human genomics datasets using the GA4GH Data Use Ontology


 

The GA4GH Data Use and Researcher Identities Work Stream will host a webinar on September 27 to demonstrate how researchers and data custodians use the GA4GH Data Use Ontology (DUO) standard to streamline access to controlled-access datasets. Hosted by DUO contributors and implementers, the webinar will feature presenters from multiple institutions and countries discussing their deployments of DUO within their own regulatory frameworks. This high-level overview provides an ideal entry point for attendees to gain familiarity with current uses of DUO, as well as the community behind its ongoing development and implementation. 

The DUO standard, approved by the GA4GH Steering Committee earlier this year, allows users to semantically tag datasets with defined usage restrictions and conditions, allowing the data to be automatically discoverable based on a health, clinical, or biomedical researcher’s authorization level or intended use. DUO is based on the OBO Foundry principles and developed using the W3C Web Ontology Language.

DUO is currently used in production by the European Genome-phenome Archive (EGA) at EMBL-EBI/CRG, the Broad Institute, DNAStack, Wellcome Sanger Institute, Australian Genomics, ELIXIR, and several other institutions across the globe. DUO experts from each of these institutions will be speaking on the implementation and use of DUO in their systems, as well as providing demonstrations, use cases, and unique perspectives.

WEBINAR AGENDA:

  • Overview of the DUO standard: Melanie Courtot, EMBL-EBI, UK
  • Demonstrating the Broad’s DUOS implementation: Jonathan Lawson, Broad Institute, USA
  • Searching and accessing DUO-tagged data in the EGA: Aina Jene, EGA-CRG, Spain
  • DUO from a DAC’s perspective: Hayley Clissold, Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK
  • Aligning consent language and DUO for machine-readability: Adrian Thorogood, McGill University, Canada
  • Mapping existing Japanese access policies to DUO: Soichi Ogishima, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Building a plain-language DUO for patients in Australia: Tiffany Boughtwood, Australian Genomics, Australia
  • Connecting the pieces: A DUO + RI use case: Mikael Linden, ELIXIR, Finland

The webinar is part of an ongoing series of educational events to help the user community implement and engage with GA4GH standards. If you generate or manage controlled-access data, or are just curious about how they could be handled, please join us!

The DUO webinar will stream live on September 27, 2019 at 7am PDT/10am EDT/3pm BST/11pm JST and is expected to last an hour, with additional time for questions at the end. Register today to join live or view the recording on YouTube, along with past webinars, after the event.